Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views on whether children should be taught to compete or co-operate. While it is true that children can learn a lot from competition, I do think that collaboration is the ability in need for our future adults and for our society. On the one hand, kids should learn how to deal with failures with good grace when falling short in a rivalry. With sensitive and fragile egos, children will channel their sense of inferiority to others such as bullying, which might be accelerated into more violent behaviour when they are getting older. However, weathering the failure of competition with unconditional caring and proper guidance from teachers and parents, they will experience that one is still loved when defeated. That will therefore instil an unshakeable belief in self-value which will protect them and thus future adults from doing detrimental things to overcome the sense of worthlessness. On the other hand, even though there are valuable lessons that come from competition, I do think cooperation needs to be promoted more as it requires a set of skills including leadership, trust, and empathy on a cognitive as well as an emotional level. These are all essential skills for good employees in the workforce. For instance, there are maybe free riders in a school project. It is easy to get agitated with them, but a good team worker will change perspectives and then try to understand what matters to them and how to use it to motivate them. This ability can transfer to a company's work environment when they grow up. In conclusion, I think young people can learn a lot through rivalry, yet, the ability to co-operate is more manifold and more important for future adults and can be never stressed too much.