Explain some of the ways in which human are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Global environmental damage is the most pressing problem in the world nowadays. This issue stems from a lot of factors, and it could be tackled by several viable solutions with the cooperation of authorities and citizens. There are several reasons leading to ecosystem degradation. Firstly, with a rapid increase in the human population, the mother earth has been contaminated by a large amount of garbage, produced through the production and consumption of goods. For example, a staggering 2.7 million tonnes of plastic are generated in The Philippines each year. Additionally, the total amount of carbon emission and greenhouse gas emitted from factories and vehicles also increases dramatically, which eventually leads to ozone layer depletion and climate change. According to a recent scientific report, the earth's average temperature has risen by nearly 1 degree Celsius and will not stop at this number in the future. In order to address this problem, various/different actions should be taken by both governments and individuals.One is that politicians can legislate laws to limit the greenhouse gas emissions from both industrial operations and traffic, which is the principal pollutant causing harmful impacts on the earth. For instance, green taxes can be applied to the joines who excessively emit exhaust fumes, forcing them to switch to a more environmentally-friendly system. Moreover, every person can take steps to slow down, and eventually stop the damage through everyday awareness of our energy use, and attention to the ways we can save electricity and minimize fossil fuel usage. People should switch to energy-efficient lighting, improve the efficiency of home appliances, make it a habit to bring their own shopping bag instead of using plastic when going to market, and use products made from recycled materials or recyclable materials to reduce waste, which can contaminate water resources, make use of public transport instead of their private vehicles. In conclusion, While humans are causing environmental destruction in many ways, this issue can still be solved by both governments and individuals.