Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The utilization of the open areas for planting or building more houses has become a debatable issue.There is an opinion that growing trees in urban areas is more necessary than constructing buildings.While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue that both trees and buildings play a vital role in the development of cities. On the one hand, the advantages of having more green space are indisputable.It is clear that trees help to improve air quality by intercepting and trapping pollutants and dust, which are produced by transportation and industry. Besides, the sizeable contribution the trees can make in the world’s attempt to clean itself is not underestimated. They help to combat global warming by absorbing carbon dioxide, removing and storing the carbon while releasing oxygen back into the air. For instance, it is estimated that trees can reduce the temperature in a city by up to 7°C. Additionally, planting trees can provide more space for elders and youngsters to do some physical activities in a relaxing environment. On the other hand, utilizing abundant lands to build houses for inhabitants is also essential. Along with the growth in human population in the urban areas, erecting buildings supplies/provides more homes and offices for a large number of citizens. Therefore, this can be an efficient solution to tackle the housing shortage, and definitely minimize/diminish overcrowding. To sum up, it is quite essential to enrich the environment with trees plantation, however, the value of constructing houses to meet the demand of people cannot be neglected. Thus, the balance between them will be an effective method/measure for adequate economic growth and environmental protection.