The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime and violence are increasing at an alarming rate in many societies around the world. Therefore, many people recommend limiting the violence shown in films and on television to combat the crimes related to violence in society. I strongly disagree with the given solution because it will threaten the freedom of media. Moreover, these scenes are not the main reason behind the violent behaviour of individuals but lack of education and poverty are. The foremost reason for disagreeing with the above statement is that often governments misuse these kinds of laws in order to suppress the real issues. In other words, it will threaten the freedom of expression not only of media but also of individuals. For example, in Afghanistan, the state has banned many media channels because they were trying to raise awareness in society. In addition, it will also leave the public unaware of the actual problems that a region or a country might be facing since many movies are based on real-life incidents. To illustrate, a film called NH10 which was produced by Anushka Sharma, raised the issue related to honour killing, especially in rural areas. Additionally, people become offenders not by watching movies but because of other underlying reasons such as poverty and illiteracy. For instance, many studies have proven that watching crime thrillers might affect their behaviour in the short term. However, it does not make them serious offenders. Hence, governments should rather focus on the actual reasons behind crimes, and also provide better employment and education opportunities to their citizens. In conclusion, although many people believe that crime thrillers influence the crimes in society, I oppose the opinion because it will limit media and individuals ' freedom to express their opinions. Besides, they are not the underlying reason to motivate individuals to commit crimes. Thus, the government should concentrate on real issues and the reasons behind them instead.