Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

With the advent of technology, publicity has turned out to be a ubiquitous part of society. There are different views about the implications of advertising, however, I personally argue that this growth can be equally beneficial and detrimental simultaneously. On the one hand, the omnipresence of advertisements in every aspect of daily life can bring many benefits for not only businesses and customers but also society. To begin with, through commercials, companies can reach potential buyers, attract them to a particular product and urge them to stick to that brand in a very efficient and cost-effective way. Consequently, while the market for their goods might be captured and expanded, product sales might increase. For clients, it saves their time, effort, and money in obtaining information about the product, as due to advertisements, customers can be informed of newly-launched products to make the most optimal choices by comparing different brands and their varied qualities. Finally, the expansion of advertising in various forms creates far-reaching employment opportunities and provides employment to people all around the world who are concerned in every field. On a large scale, advertising serves as a bridge between manufacturers and customers, expanding business opportunities and raising living standards. On the other hand, the inconveniences this trend has brought about should not be ignored. Firstly, as for individuals, their choice of products might be manipulated if they heavily rely on commercials. Marketers can employ tricks and gimmicks to incite people to buy products that can be of poor quality or different from what the advertisement had shown before, leading to great dissatisfaction among buyers. Furthermore, customers can feel overwhelmed by the colossal number of advertisements. Should they meet with too many commercials, customers will be fed up with advertising instead of feeling informed of useful information and ignore its well-meaning value. For example, many people have showcased their frustration because they are bombarded with advertising that acutely interrupts their online experience, such as playing mobile games or watching Youtube videos. In conclusion, although the widespread presence/expansion/ the growing prevalence of commercials serves as an incentive for further economic development, it might still leave several repercussions for individuals.