Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, which others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the advancement of technology, especially, many people feel that libraries have become defunct. However, on contrary, some people believe that role of libraries is still intact. In the present essay, both views are discussed and in the end, a logical conclusion has been made out, though it is my personal opinion. Proponents of libraries defend themselves on mainly the grounds. Firstly, they believe that libraries are not more collection of books but it a conducive atmosphere. To explain, the calm and quiet surroundings in the library are difficult to find anywhere else. Also, an unsaid convention of being silent is the utmost contribution to such an atmosphere. Not surprising then, the relevance of libraries is still there. Secondly, libraries are a place where like-minded people meet and discuss their studies. For instance, students preparing for competitive examinations can meet their potential competitors and can also learn or device their strategies accordingly, or even jointly. Hence, the role of libraries seems to be significant from this aspect as well. On contrary, opponents claim the advent of technology has turned libraries into museums or even bird shelters. According to this school of thought, people watch video lectures and read e-books. To be more praised, the ways of transferring knowledge and information have changed a lot. Anything and everything can be just a click away and there is no need to look for in books or even discuss with follows. Additionally, it is also claimed that there is a change of interest. These days, people prefer to learn about science and technology and most libraries are banks of art and culture books or, at most, biographies. Hence, the libraries are often viewed as museums. As we have discussed both views, though briefly, I personally feel there is a decline in a number of visitors but it is still intact and even more serious and genuine people visit libraries.