Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The scarcity of land to build new houses is a problem that many countries are facing around the world. This issue is more evident in big cities and results in serious results such as high cost of living and poor quality of life. Therefore, many experts recommend that only the government can take the required measurements to handle it efficiently. Personally, I strongly agree with the given statement as it is only the regime can plan a city in a better way and provide better opportunities to its residents. The foremost reason for supporting the above statement is that it is only the state that has the authority to plan and organise cities as well as their infrastructure. Thus, in order to save space, it should discourage building single-storey residences by constructing multi-storey buildings equipped with all facilities and providing them to the public at reasonable prices. For example, to solve the issue of unavailability of homes, the Singapore government built vertical complexes with the collaboration of the housing department which were not only cheaper but also well organised. Besides, the state can implement laws in this regard. To illustrate the Canadian government, in view of the increasing prices of apartments, brought the law to restrict purchasing them by foreigners. Additionally, to discourage people from migrating to urban cities, better amenities can be made available in the countryside only since many folks move to urban areas in search of opportunities related to education, medical and employment. For instance, when the authority levied less tax on companies which would establish their offices and factories in rural areas, fewer people migrated to city centres. As a result, it solved the issue of congested spaces, especially in the centre of the city. In conclusion, it is evident that it is only the state which can take proper steps in order to solve the problem related to the shortage of housing in urban spaces by investing more in the countryside and encouraging people to live in vertical buildings instead of landed houses. I also highly suggest taking mentioned steps to solve the above problem.