Being a celebrity - such as a movie star or professional athlete - brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity has more benefits or drawbacks?

It is debatable whether there are more advantages than disadvantages to being a famous / well-known person. Just like a coin has two sides, there are pros and cons to being a famous personality. First of all, let’s discuss the advantages of being a famous sportsperson or a film star. The most obvious benefit is the fame and love that celebrities get from the people. Money is the second most important aspect, as in a very short time span celebrities earn a lot of money. This money they can spend on a better lifestyle and travel across the world. Also, being a celebrity, they get benefits and priorities at certain places. For example, while boarding a plane celebrities will be provided with a VIP entrance which is not available to the general public. On the other hand, fame comes with a cost. There are some fans who will stalk these celebrities, jeopardizing their privacy. Similarly, the paparazzi will invade the private moments of celebrities and ruin their social and personal life. In addition to that, there is always performance pressure on famous people, as if they fail someone else will take their place. Also, celebrities have to be very careful with the sentiments of people, one mistake can bring harm to their image or their family. For example, in the 2014 world cup, the Indian team did not perform well in a cricket match, resulting in a group of people protesting and throwing stones at senior team players’ homes. In conclusion, there are definitely advantages to being a celebrity as they get to influence a lot of people and earn huge amounts of money. However, there are plenty of disadvantages too as fame can lead to the invasion of privacy and the pressure to be top-notch at all times