Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people have different views regarding how students choose their major subjects in university. Some people believe that teenagers should select the subjects that benefit their future the most; whilst others argue that they should decide based on their interests. In my opinion, I entirely support the youths to study whatever they like in university. The main reason why pupils should select subjects that will be good for their career path. Candidates are usually required to complete academic studies and achieve certificates to register as professionals. For instance, clinicians, medical laboratory technologists and physiologists are all specialists in particular areas. The remuneration of those occupations is secured at a certain level. They seem to have a wonderful life quality and stable income. Therefore, decision-making for study subjects is directly linked to foresight future and life. However, I believe that students studying what they are favourable to is important in another area. Most likely they will have more happiness and creativity, enjoy learning and be willing to put more effort into the courses. As a result, these allow huge diversity and experts in various sectors. For example, Benedict Cumberbatch is one of the most famous and successful artists globally. He chose music and art performance as his major at the University of Manchester when he was young. His well-known plays such as Dr. Strange and Sherlock Holmes became his signature in the present time. Although some study subjects seem not useful like science and technology, people will also achieve great success in different industries. In conclusion, it is critical to study subjects that will be useful to have a job in the future, but I believe that studying whatever makes them happy is more important for their life.