These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The teacher is a career which is highly appreciated by society, because of the references of growing up the individuals; that means teachers are the people dedicated to a lot of other people, and may highly impact them. But, in fact, there are more and more people, though this is a job they dream of, or school undergraduates, who refuse to become teachers, especially in secondary school in developed countries. The following essay aims at discussing some causes and feasible solutions to tackle them with relevant examples to support them. To start with, many people hold a view that the first and foremost reason for the shortage of teachers is related to the low salary. In Vietnam, for example, a postgraduate person who starts to teach in the school might earn about 200$ per month. When a teacher demonstrated the ability and permission to teach long- last at school, the wage might be no more than 600$, according to the data taken by an over 20-year teacher in an upper-secondary school. The way forward is to increase the level of teachers ’ salaries. Governments and ministers should increase the limitation of the wage and take care of the teachers ’ life more such as adjusting the lecturer’s bonuses... Next, many people believe that the second important reason for the shortage of teachers is the terrible balance of their life. Teachers who teach the common subjects such as mathematics, literature or physics, etc have to teach a large number of lessons and in the extra classes, therefore, they have less time to think and spend time on themselves and family. The way forward is to restrict the number of hours per day of each teacher. This is one of the most effective ways to upgrade the quality of any teacher. Teachers and education are indispensable jobs in society. Hope an understanding of the reality and solutions might make some school undergraduates and school leavers would choose this job again.