Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Undoubtedly,the usage of plastic products is damaging to the environment as it is extremely dangerous for the health and survival of all the living beings on the planet. A joint effort of states and individual people is required to tackle the threats to the environment. Plastic has a detrimental impact not only on humans but also influences other living beings. For instance, when plastic is dumped on seashores, it is consumed by the fish. This results in a decreased supply of the fish as plastic is not digestible in the digestive tract of all the animals. This is also a non-degradable material since it remains in the environment even after thousands of years. Therefore, plastic bags, bottles and packaging are the main and significant causes of land and water pollution. Strict laws and legislation are needed to mitigate the utilization of plastic in routine life. For example, governments can strictly implement the replacement of plastic based products with other materials such as paper, which is 100 per cent biodegradable. The use of paper bags and paper straws has already been administered by the regulations in many developed nations. However, only the effort of states cannot achieve the actual goal unless a common man is involved. People should consider how important their role is in saving the environment. They should abide by the rules and choose environmentally friendly products. In conclusion, the well-being of all the living creatures is highly affected by the utilization of plastic goods on daily basis. This environmental problem, however, can be dealt with the corporation of governments and individual citizens. If stringent rules are implemented by higher authorities of all the nations and individuals comply with the regulations, it will ensure a cleaner and safer environment for the future generations.