In many countries, people are woking increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect.

Due to the competitive era of society and to gain a financially stable life, people in many nations are imparting their duties more than the prescribed office hours. However, this trend can adversely impact on working individuals as they may have the lower level of bonding and understanding with their family and extra working can cause them many health issues. To begin with, the main reason why there is an increase in the working hours of people is the competition in the society as everybody in the professional world has to achieve the given targets in the limited time so this may require some extra efforts and extra working hours also. In addition to it, if there is an increase in the extra working hours, people can get financial benefits like overtime incentives and this may increase their promotion chances in future as well. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University in March, 2015 manifestly unveiled that 65% of people accepted that they had increased there working hours because they were able to get financial and promotional benefits from this approach. Consequently, if there is a considerable increase in the longer hours working, this may be a reason to decrease bonds with their family members. To explain, when people start to spend a lot of time at work, this may decrease their family time and certainly they become oblivious of the issues related to their family. Hence, this can be a reason of fights in their family. Moreover, an increasing longer hours working can affact negatively on the health of working individuals. For example, working more than eight hours on computers can increase the chance of eye sight issues and back pain. To conclude, though many people are opting longer working hours for reasons like competition and financial gains, this trend brings along negative impact in terms of lower level of bonding among their families and fitness.