An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

Nowadays, there is a significant rise in the number of people leaving their own country for better job opportunities. Apparently, for professionals such as doctors and teachers, wealthier societies would pay considerably higher than poorer countries. This can cause many problems, for example, the lack of physicians and teachers in the suburban area. Government should support careers for citizens of the country and encourage more skilled populations to stay. Advances in education and the healthcare system have made outstanding contributions to the countries and people’s quality of life. When more employees pursue their career opportunities abroad for better salaries, unskilled people are left in their hometowns which will cause difficulties. For instance, in, Thailand a huge number of doctors move abroad for better higher education and career paths while there is only 1 doctor in the health centre in some sub-districts. Some talented teachers in Thailand moved to a bigger city or move abroad for better wages while the education system in rural areas remains undeveloped. In addition, lots of architect graduates who receive minimum wages in Thailand move to Singapore, which causes terrible design buildings and construction in Thailand. The government should support their own citizen, especially professional workers to stay in their motherland by providing them with reasonable wages and adequate welfare benefits to encourage them to stay. Furthermore, technical or high skilled jobs such as doctors, nurses, architects and engineers should be limited to only citizens of the country to prevent competition in the job market from foreigners. In conclusion, professionals’ job transfer to developed countries cause so many problems and governments should take action to encourage more people to stay in their motherland.