In many countries, people are woking increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect.

In many countries, people are working increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect. Due to the competitive era and to gain a financially stable life, people in many nations are imparting their duties more than the prescribed office hours. However, this trend can adversely impact working individuals as they may have a lower level of bonding and understanding with their family along with various health issues. To begin with, the main reason why people increase the time at their workplace is the competition in the society. As everybody in the professional world has to achieve the given targets in the limited time so this may require some extra effort and working hours also. In addition to it, this helps the people to attain financial benefits and chances of their promotion. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University in March, 2015 manifestly unveiled that 65% of people accepted that they work for extended hours because they are able to get financial and promotional benefits from this approach. Consequently, if there is a considerable increase in the extra working hours, this may be a reason to decrease bonds with their family members. To explain, when people start spending a lot of time at work, this may decrease their family time and they become oblivious of the issues related to their family. Moreover, increasing longer hours can affect negatively the health of working individuals. For example, working more than eight hours on computers can increase the chance of eyesight issues and back pain. To conclude, though, in various countries, many people work for extra hours at offices for various reasons, this trend brings along some negative impacts in terms of the lower level of bonding among their families and fitness. Hence, in my opinion, it is a negative development.