In many countries, people are woking increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative effect.

Nowadays, most individuals spend a lot of time fending for their families at work. This has many reasons behind such as low salaries and an expensive lifestyle. The essay below will discuss the causes for this at length and also note if it has a positive or a negative effect. First and foremost, low income and unaffordable lifestyle are some of the reasons for spending more time at work. Most breadwinners earn peanuts which do not sustain the whole family for a month. This forces such individuals to find more than one job so to make the ends meet. For example, in the United Kingdom, most parents are employed for two jobs because of low salaries which do not meet the family's needs. Moreover, the lifestyle is expensive,especially in some of the cities in the world and people can not survive on a single salary. Hong Kong is one of the most expensive cities in the world, life on its own is unaffordable, this pushes some people to work longer hours so to survive. Furthermore, working long hours has a negative effect because it creates strained relationships between parents and children as they no longer have time to bond. Also, most workers end up with dangerous ailments such as depression caused by a lack of rest. For instance, in 2016, a study conducted in Singapore showed that 78% of the people who worked extra hours had stress and most of them suffered from anxiety. Therefore, spending more time at work may seem advantageous while in, reality it causes a lot of pressure and diseases. In conclusion, working increasingly longer hours is caused by different issues such as unaffordable lifestyle in some cities and low wages. However, this has a negative effect on people's health and it causes strained relations between parents and children as they spend less time together. These and other issues have been discussed in the essay above.