Tourism has been a good source of revenue in many countries. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages.

Revenue generated by tourists has seen a massive increase over the last century due to more affordable travle costs. Many countries rely on tourism as a key source of income. This essay will discuss the benefits, as well as the drawbcks of revenue generated through tourism. A great byproduct of tourism for many countries in the world, is a boost in the local economy. This can manifest in several different ways, such as an increase in jobs in and around the tourism industry. Furthermore, local restourants and shops are likley to see an increase in revenue generated by tourist. Overall, tourism creates an oppotunity for many of the loclas local to either generate more revenue from an existing establishment, whilst others have the opportunity to created new businesses targeting tourists. In addition, tourists may often be inclined to spend a permium at the destination they are visting for itmes, such as food and ticktes. This further increases the potential revenue for loclas local. In contrary, if a country becomes dependent on tourist for revenue they might stuggle during times when there is not a lot of travle. An example of this would be the COVID-19 pandemic. Establishments targeting tourist primeraly are very prone to looseing losing loosening a lot of revenue in situations like the recent pandemic. This is due to the lack of tourist visting the country. As a result of this, many might stuggle to pay for expense, such as rent and food. In extreme cases this can lead to an increase in poverty and crime, as many people may not be able to generate enough money or find a job. In summary, revenue generated through tourism seems to be an effective way of creating jobs, as well as revenue for many countries. It may be a good idea for some countries, to disversify revenue sources. This is likley to help hege against events such as the COVID-19 pandemic. If a country is very depdent dependant on income from the tourism industry, they may have greater expousare to events such as the recent pandemic resutling in detramnetal consecunces.