Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is extensively held that a favourable way of connecting people from a wide range of cultural backgrounds and ages is music. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement due to the fact that music tends to bond the folk with the same taste together, as well as the impactful emotion and meaning it conveys. To begin with, one of the reasons is that individuals who have a similar music taste will form a relationship more easily. When the public shares interests, they are likely to get along with each other readily and get to know another one effectively, leading to a solid foundation of friendship. For example, fans of the K-POP industry form a huge community of people with the same music preference known as ‘fandom’, which consists of fans from different cultures and ages. This is the case that music brings a variety of listeners who are strangers together and helps them generate new relationships. Furthermore, music contains a host of meaningful emotional information which composers are expected to communicate regardless of language. To explain, even though audiences are unfamiliar with the lyrics in other languages, they could be able to understand its purposes through melodies, sounds, tones, and instruments. For example, classical music which barely has lyrics gives off a sense of sorrow because its main instrument is the piano, whereas the saxophone conveys a sense of delight. As a result, music is globally understandable no matter how old listeners are or where they are native to. To conclude, among many methods of linking people from diverse cultures and ages, music proves to be perhaps the most effective way due to its potential to attract individuals with the same taste together, along with the feeling and meaning it holds.