Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Certain people think that to achieve in sports one should have natural ability whereas others are of the opinion that putting extra effort and practice may lead to success. I, however, think that hard work and practice can make one be successful. The essay below will discuss both views at length. To begin with, people are not born with certain skills such as kicking the ball. All successful individuals who are known for playing games did certain courses and put extra effort into practising the skill. For instance, soccer players such as Ronaldo and Rushfold were not born with the ability to play football. In fact, they were both taught soccer playing skills and even up to now they spend hours in training. For this reason, I think no one is born with the ability to play any sport but people gain knowledge and skills from others. On the other hand, some individuals are of the opinion that to be successful at playing games, one must have a natural ability. I disagree with this thought because no one is born knowing, we all learn some things from others including sporting activities. For example, a biological scientist, Leo Clifford, states that no one is born with certain abilities, instead, all children are socialised into having different skills. In conclusion, I disagree with the notion that for one to excel in sports one must have natural skills. This is so because nowadays there are many sporty individuals who learnt these skills at school. These and other issues are discussed in the essay above.