Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that government investment should not be used for improving the art and culture sector, while others believe that there are many advantages to community improvement. This essay completely agrees with this view and I will explain some benefits of supporting artists and cultural events by the authority in the next paragraphs. To begin with, artistic and cultural activities are the key to knowledge and connection between society. We totally know if we want to understand a country’s politics or a person, we will start looking at their culture first and then learn about their history and arts. However those things get people curious and want to find answers, then people will travel there to get answers, and because of the government investment in supporting their culture and art, that makes people more interested in visiting their country, which opens a new financial door, that is tourism. To illustrate tourism is an essential factor for any country’s economy and this funding helps to grow the tourism sector as well. On the other hand, the government funding budget for supporting cultural activities and artists to show people their work contributes to strengthening cultural ties between communities. I think these cultural or art events are important for children to learn more about their cultural identity and how they cling to their culture. For instance, when I was a child, I used to go to national festivals in which people wore traditional clothes and some pieces showed how people lived, that taught me a lot about my culture and my country and some social attitudes such as how to respect older people. I think this sociable activities are good for children especially and adults as well. In conclusion, government funding in supporting artists and cultural events is very important for strengthening social cohesion and informing other communities about the country’s culture. I believe that this investment in order to organize cultural and artistic activities is very important for our society.