The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past decades, the world has evolved substantially in terms of technological advancement. Data security and personal information leakages from companies that are providing internet access and social media applications become evitable consequences of this issue. There are both positive and negative aspects to this trend. This essay will seek to examine the complex issue and give my idea at last. On the one hand, I would like to point out that there are various reasons to consider getting the advantages of giving control of personal data to the companies, like Facebook and Instagram. First of all, social media plays a pivotal trend in today's world. People tend to use it to expand their reach to all over the world, regardless of its negative implications. Moreover, communication applications become a place to parade their businesses' expression and individual reputation, such as by uploading their activities. Additionally, people nowadays get used to giving control of their identical information to the companies in order to pursue cutting-edge technologies. For example, their bank card information and thumb prints are allowed to use for their cashless payments through mobile phones and internet. On the other hand, I would like to express an equal view that there are several drawbacks of this issue. Worst of all, mail scam and online discrimination become fashionable in today's media. Besides, some companies are getting notorious by spying covertly to their own customer via their photos and keywords that they type, especially targeting youngsters. To avoid these situation becoming any worse, it seems people need to stop overvaluing their social media status and giving personal codes, like dates of birth and banks ID. In conclusion, although there are some advantages and different opinions, it seems to me that granting the control of our own data to others will end up with more disadvantages than benefits.