Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is not agreement around what should be the goal of the universities. For some people, colleges must help students to increases their chances to get well-paid jobs, while for others their role is related to the possibillity to civilize individuals and nurture our societies and culture. In this brief dissertation, I'd like to discuss both point of view, as well as to draft a final conclusion pointing out a medium term among them. To start with the first point of view, it seems undeniable that in some point of their lives, people will need to find a job, and their possibilities to find it are very tied to the level of formal education they have. As a consequence of this, both individuals and society expect that universities can provide of the right set of skills, whether them hard or soft, to their students, otherwise they're not going to be able to succed after graduate. However, even if I agree with this, it is also important to notice that not all the education of the future generations should be restricted by present working demands. And that is precisaly what makes me connect with the second point of view. Regarding it, it is especially important to point out that universities also play an important role in training people in a more holistic way, by transmiting cultural and social aspects, such as values, norms, and ways of thinking. In this sense, if we reduce the role of the education to the need to find a job, we also limiting the potential of the students and their future. Puting an example: I currently don't work in something related to what I studied, but all the informal contents that the university provided me are being crucial to me in order to find a good job and perform well in it. In conclusion, from my view, what the universities need to find is a balance between functional and meaningful contents. In other words, colleges should not forget the full picture while they're trying to help students to get jobs.