Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, smoking is known to be the most significant contributor to serious health issues, as well as death around the world. As a result, it is widely held that cigarettes and other tobacco products should be banned by the government for the sake of public health. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement because society as a whole is threatened by the effects of smoking. To begin with, smoking is not only harmful to smokers themselves but also to other people surrounding them. This is because smoke from cigarettes contains dangerous chemical substances and can spread through the air extensively and instantly, leading to non-smokers unintentionally breathing in the smoke. For example, smoking in the park will affect a host of people ranging from children to elderly people, whose health is particularly susceptible to detrimental smoke. This proves that smoking produces negative impacts on the health of a wide range of people in the community and should be strictly prohibited. Furthermore, another reason why cigarettes and other tobacco goods should not be allowed to sell is a concern about other follow-up physical problems. To explain, smoking naturally leads to ailments related to the respiratory system, but more severe illnesses could subsequently come and worsen the situation. For instance, individuals who frequently inheld smoke might suffer from lung cancer which is associated with the circulatory system and heart. As a result, those serious ailments can be prevented, if the number of smokers is lower by disallowing sales of smoking goods. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that cigarettes and other tobacco products should be banned in order to prevent serious illnesses and death of the public. If the government regulates an effective law to forbid selling smoking products, the worldwide rate of health problems and death caused by smoking will surely drop.