Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is being observed that after completion of first punishment, the intensity of committing crime has increased in many offenders. The reasons why this phenomenon occurs are due to getting in contact with other criminals and a decrease in the fear of punishment among offenders. This essay will delve deeper into these causes along with solutions related this problem. To begin with, when many criminals complete their first punishment, they may get closer to dangerous criminals in the prison. Hence, from there, heinous criminals easily change the mind of new offenders after this many offenders may try to plan big criminal activities. In addition, the fear of punishment can have the least impact on offenders if they complete their first punishment without any difficulty by using money or power and this can increase the tendency to do the crime again and again in them. A survey conducted by Oxford University in March, 2015 that 35% chances of criminal activities had increased in many offenders when they got bailed due to their powerful contacts and money. Consequently, there are many solutions to cope with the issue. Primarily, after observing the extent of crime of many offenders, they should be sent to rehabilitation centers than directly to jails. Because this small change in their first punishment not only makes them understand the meaning of crime but also save them to get involved in dangerous criminals. Moreover, departments related to law and prisons should be free from any external forces. For example, no political pressure or corruption in these systems can ramp up fear among first time offenders. To conclude, it is unequivocal that though it is becoming a serious issue nowadays that many offenders incline towards crime again post first punishment, they may have reasons such as less fear and attachment with other criminals; however, measures like no extra interference in judiciary and use of rehabilitation centers can solve the issue effectively.