Human activities have negative effects on plants and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other people believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a heated discussion about whether humans should take actions to protect the species from the impact of human activities. Although it is argued by some people that it is too late to take any action on this problem, I hold the opinion that we can still adopt effective measures to improve this situation. Some people believe that the negative impact that humans have exerted over the ecological system is irreversible. Thus little outcome can be seen if action is taken from now on. For example, the breakthroughs that humans have achieved in genetic science cannot bring extinct species back to life. Moreover, genetically modified organisms might affect biodiversity, and the possible knock-on effect is yet to be foreseen. In this case, the action that aims to protect the species is neglectable. However, I would argue that effective and timely measures are pivotal in protecting plants and animal species from further harm. If people stop burning coal and fossil fuels and alter to renewable energy, then we are more likely to avert global temperature rising up to an unprecedented level, and more species are able to survive because of that. If we start enhancing people's awareness of protecting wildlife, then communities are more likely to work collaboratively in to conserving endangered species. Thus, the negative impacts of human activities on species can be reversed. In summary, while it is true that it is too late to rectify some of the damage that humans have imposed on plants and animal species, I would argue that effective measures should still be taken to prevent the problem from exacerbating.