Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in teams sports such as football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Different people have different views on playing sports. While many believe team sports, such as football, cricket, rugby and so on can reap more advantages, others subscribe to the view that people can drive better benefits from participation in individual sports, for example, tennis, badminton, surfing and swimming. In my opinion, team sports are far more advantageous than individual ones. Individual sports lay greater emphasis on personal growth. It teaches athletes self-reliance and requires them to develop strategies to learn promptly from their mistakes and make corrections instantly on the spot as the athletes carry the weight of failure and success alike on their shoulders. A case in point is ‘singles tennis’. A player cannot bring in a teammate in singles tennis. It is therefore important that every competitive opportunity is an opportunity to beat a person’s best. In short, discipline, self-reliance, passion, and focus are virtues worth fostering in participants of individual sports. In contrast, with team spirit and camaraderie leading the team, there are myriad advantages to taking part in team sports. First and foremost, it develops cooperation, no matter the personal talents of players; one has to work together and depends on other teammates so as to succeed. A good example here is a successful goal in football. The snapper has to deliver accurately the ball to the holder, who in turn, must handle it and place the ball on the field in an appropriate spot, and finally, the striker must kick the ball so as to make a goal. Team sports, thus, teach individuals to appreciate the value of every player’s abilities and how their efforts can contribute to a shared goal, thereby making them a more patient, optimistic, and supportive individuals on and off the ground. In pithy, it seems logical to assume that team sports are much better than individual sports in the sense that it helps foster more qualities compared to individual ones. So we should focus more on team sports both for ourselves and our next generation.