In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, people prefer to shop in places where everything is available for example, malls or shopping centres. However, this is definitely impacting small local shops. I will shed light on how it is a positive or negative development. To begin with, shopping plazas or shopping centres are the places where all the big brands are readily available. You don't have to rush from one place to another. Many of us find these places better than the small local shops. In addition to it, this is an era of digitalization where people prefer to shop online. One doesn't have to step out of their place while shopping on a web platform. This type of development is good and comforting from the customer's point of view, one doesn't have to step out or have everything in one place. On the other hand, small stores are suffering a lot. There have been local department stores that have been closed due to a decrease in sales. For instance, Reliance Jio mart has opened in multiple malls and is providing heavy discounts which hampered the sales of small groceries store in the area. Also, big stores or marts are unable to provide small commodities like spices, which are readily available at local stores. Another benefit is that the older generation prefers to buy groceries or stuff from local shops as they believe better discounts are provided there. In conclusion, I would like to adage that the construction of malls and shopping centres is a positive development for the younger or upcoming generation. However, the older generation still prefers the local stores.