Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outwit the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the monitoring situation by electronic devices like security cameras or cell phone tracking has increased in all our daily life sectors. For some people, this art of monitoring can be a problem because they are unaware of what is happening. In my opinion, I see the advantages of this development have more positive sides than negative sides, and I will try to explain that in my essay. Firstly, security cameras can avoid criminal activities in many cases. What I mean whit that is that security cameras can monitor huge areas of properties or buildings and can protect people from criminal people. For example, the kindergarten from my daughter is near one homeless camp which happens a lot of criminal activities in the past. Security cameras can protect my child by monitoring when the children are out and playing with their friends from eventual criminals. That is one of the reasons why I see monitoring as positive. Secondly, cellphone tracking can avoid bad situations and turn them into positive situations. Everyone from us had in our days a cellphone, and that is good. Because, if someone gets lost can be found through his wireless telephone. For instance, my brother was lost last summer on a hiking tour in Joshua Park. He didn’t find a way to come back in his car. It was very late and he didn't come home. Furthermore, we were very concerned about him and we called the police. The police find my brother through his (GPS) cellular phone signal and they brought him safely back home. My brother told the police officer, that his battery was low and he could not call someone. That is another reason, that I strongly believe tracking by a cellular phone has positive aspects and not negative. To conclude, thus advantages of monitoring nowadays through security cameras or cellphones can avoid and protect people from criminal activities and save people in difficult situations without to outwit the disadvantage.