Living in a city is bad for health. To what extent, Do you agree?

It is true that health has an indispensable role to play in many realms of contemporary society. Some people believed that staying in a big city to work or live has some negative impacts on our health. From my perspective, I mostly agree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain my viewpoints in detail in the ensuing paragraphs. There are several drawbacks to living in a metropolis. To begin with, the usage of private automobiles is increasing to save time for commuting. Therefore, this phenomenon may cause two parts of bad influences. On the one hand, exhaust emissions lead to some physical diseases, such as lung cancer or pneumonia. On the other hand, according to the statistics in Taiwan, the rate of car accidents has raised rapidly due to fast-paced life. For instance, the population who lives in a big city gets used to rushing for everything to be done, and also getting a stressful life. Hence, it could get some phycological issues. Depression and Generalized Anxiety Disorder are salient examples. These indicate that people dwelling in a metropolis have negative effects on their health. At the other end of the spectrum, living in an urban place brings a positive effect. Medical centres are extremely common in urban areas, so when people are aware of any health problem, they can immediately seek healthcare resources to treat the symptoms and schedule surgeries. Considering of convenience of seeing a doctor, it is an advantage for staying in a big city. In summary, despite the fact that dwelling downtown indeed has plenty of demerits for the health such as accidents, and physical and mental problems, their merit must not be ignored.