Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, advertising appears everywhere at any time by different ways, such as television, radio, the Internet, even boards on streets. People often claim that this is good for our lives whereas others do not think so. I completely agree advertising can bring merits for us. First of all, advertising can bring information to people easily, especially for people who are rare to search information. For instance, some people do not notice McDonald releases a new flavour until they see the advertisement on television. They may want to have a try of the new burger after watching the advertisement. Moreover, advertising can help potential customers make comparisons. Although we are keen on watching movies, it is impossible to have a look of all movies over the world. For this reason, people can watch trailers to find out the movie in which they are fascinated before entering cinemas. To my way of thinking, advertising can push people more willing to spend, stimulating economy of the society consequently. In reality, the advantages and disadvantages resemble two sides of one coin. Someone deem that advertising may not present the truth to the public. Admittedly, some advertisements contain false messages. We can hear that people lose money due to misleading advertisements occasionally. It is common for people to buy an unnecessary beauty treatment which do not match the advertisements. As far as I am concerned, advertising is just a tool, people have the responsibility to distinguish right from wrong. In light of the aforementioned, I believe that advertising can let people get information conveniently, providing more options to them. On the other hand, people should judge the advertisements are reliable or not.