Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While many people think that nuclear weapons are dangerous, this is a highly controversial topic. In my personal opinion, they also carry significant advantages. Let's take a look at both sides of this double-edged sword. To begin with, construction of the new weapons typically leads to innovations — and even breakthroughs — in various areas; it happened with nuclear weapons as well. Besides using them as the means of war, we received nuclear power plants that provide the population with very cheap and somewhat sustainable energy. In addition to this, since so many countries now possess strategic nuclear missiles and bombs, it made worldwide wars meaningless. If one of these nations started a full-fledged war, it would inevitably lead to the apocalypse and total extinction of the human race. In this case, it can be considered as a tool rather than a weapon since it holds leaders from starting a war and brings balance to the overall political situation. However, there are some downsides that cannot be neglected. Disposal of nuclear warheads it an expensive process that takes a lot of time and is considered harmful to nature. In addition to this, we've all seen terrible consequences when such weapons were put to use. Hiroshima and Nagasaki were human tragedies. It is hard to predict whether they were "the only two usages" or "the first two usages" of nuclear bombs; let's hope that it would be the former. Nevertheless, I tend to believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages in this particular case. The invention of nuclear munitions has brought peace to our world; a fragile one, though.