In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruits and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying that many public green spaces are being converted into cultivated gardens for the agricultural benefit of local people. I am opposed to this view for several reasons, such as the right over only a few individuals, lack of space for spending family time outside, and it also has a significant impact on health. This essay will explain the reasons why the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages. To begin, the first and foremost side effect of changing nature reserves into botanical areas is a lack of space for outdoor recreation. To explain it, many activities can only be done outside at a specific place, like sports, social gatherings, and exercises. So, the lack of a recreational ground not only affects the players but also others. Moreover, many elders like to walk in the evening, and walking on roads is dangerous; thus, they need a place to walk without worrying. For example, the recent accident happened in India on 22 June 2025, where a truck driver hit an old man who was walking on a road and had low eyesight; consequently, the victim and the culprit both have to pay. This incident happened due to the decision of higher authorities to close the community lawns. Moving further, another major reason is health. To elaborate on it, some people live in small houses, and the only source for them to breathe in open air is urban open spaces where they can sit for hours and enjoy the sunlight and fresh air, which is necessary to stay fit and healthy. For example, more than 40% people live in basements, where they do not have sufficient natural resources such as sunlight, fresh air, and so on, so to maintain fitness, they have to spend some time in outdoor recreational spaces. However, if public green areas are not available, then they might become a victim of stress, low deficiency of vitamin D, and anaemia. To conclude, although there are plathora of benefits of community gardens where local residents can grow their own fruits and vegetables, the merits at the cost of health and life are not worth it.