The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A majority of people want the advancement in science and technology should focus positively on improving their lifestyle. On the contrary, there are individuals who don't agree with this. According to them the growth in science in various fields is the leading cause of climate-related issues and that in turn is affecting the environment. I strongly agree with the title statement and we as a society should always focus on the greater good and work together to achieve them. This essay will focus on the positive and negative aspects of advancement in science. If we compare the past with today we will observe, how science, and healthcare have helped humanity to grow and prosper. With the increase in vaccines, to finding cures for fatal diseases, science has helped a long way. For example, in the past one out of five children used to cross adolescence and many civilizations were wiped out by outbreaks like plague and cholera. On the other side, as we are reaching a population of nine billion, natural resources are being abused. People want to live a comfortable lifestyle and science is making that a reality. In the past century, the global temperature has gone up drastically and because of that we are now facing global warming, unpredictable climate changes and pollution. For instance, the leading contributor to carbon emissions is the United States, they have the highest number of per capita carbon emissions. In conclusion, the goal of science should be in favour of society and how it can improve the lifestyle and longevity of the population. However, we should also consider the negative aspects of this, and work to find eco-friendly alternatives and sustainable solutions.