Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The development of transportation methods plays a key role in the economy and environment. Trains and cars are the two main methods of transportation that have been developing since the invention of steam engines. Nowadays, electric cars and electromagnetic trains become more dominant than those classic ones. I agree with the investment and I will argue how it can be efficient to invest in railroads instead of roads. Railroads are the epicenter of each country in the world because of the nature of conveying a huge amount of cargo. The better infrastructure of the railroads enables firms and manufacturers to have their materials ready in a little amount of time. In addition, the volume of materials that trains can carry cannot be compared to trucks driving on the road. Thus, investment in railroads would accelerate the economy’s circulation. Furthermore, the ever-increasing role of science made it to be possible to use a different source of energy instead of a classic one. The dominance of electromagnetic engines of trains is a perfect example to indicate that railroads transportation become more and more efficient than before in the aspect of the environment. Although the role of roads is irrefutable, they have some issues to some extent. Roads are costly to be created and maintained. A host of examples such as the risk of accident, the amount of gas burnt by cars, traffic flows on one hand, and close scrutiny of the cost-benefit analysis on the other hand deduce a discordant to the proposal. In conclusion, I believe that spending money on railroads would be much more beneficial to the economy and environment. The investment would create an opportunity to impede the use of gas fuel, cut off dense forests, and would reduce the risk of accidents by abating the number of cars and traffic. Hence, I agree with the statement to invest in railroads.