Life in the 21st century is better compared to life in the previous century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the debate on whether living in the contemporary century is better than living in the past has been heated. Some people argue that the advanced technology available in the current era brings more convenience to our lives. I disagree with this idea to a large extent. As far as I am concerned, the relationships people can have in the past should be more valuable for one's life. To begin with, it might be easier for people to build up in-person relationships in the previous century. Before the invention of technical gadgets, it seems impossible for people to be indulged in entertainment like video games or social media sites. In this way, people are encouraged to communicate with their neighbours and have more real-life interactions with one another. Therefore, people who lived in the past may be exposed to conversations with more dynamic. However, it is undeniable that advanced technology is beneficial to people who live in the 21st century. For instance, with the help of video calls, people are able to chat with their friends who are not in their neighbourhood. Nevertheless, people may also lose their interest in outdoor events when they are immersed in those virtual games. As a result, people who live at present may be more unwilling to have face-to-face communications. In conclusion, though technical development brings many advantages to the current life, people in the past can spend more time chatting and knowing different people. The diversity lies in the conversations that may make their life more colourful.