Some people think new homes need to be built with private outdoor space such as a garden, yard, or balcony. Do you think this is more advantageous or more disadvantageous?

Nowadays, houses that come with private outdoor places are quite popular among home buyers. Despite some minor drawbacks, I believe there are more benefits of such a design. Generally speaking, outdoor area is a luxury to have. Given limited land resources in many countries, it is not practical to equip every new house with a private garden or balcony which can be expensive and unaffordable to many people. In addition, private outdoor space such as a garden or a yard will take extra resources to maintain. While some enjoy gardening and find it quite relaxing watering flowers or mowing the lawn, others find it quite burdensome. Maintaining a nice-looking garden can be laborious work, which will add to house maintenance costs as well. That being said, the advantages of outdoor areas are greater given that they can improve the quality of living significantly. Firstly, families with young children will have more room for their toddlers to play around and do outdoor activities, which is crucial to their physical health. Parents will also have a perfect spot to spend quality time with their kids. Moreover, an outdoor place improves mental health as well. Being close to nature has proven to be effective in reducing pressure. If you have a balcony that faces the ocean, you will be able to enjoy the fresh air at the convenience at your own home. If one’s financial conditions allow, purchasing a property that comes with a private outdoor space is an ideal option. In summary, despite the additional resources needed for maintaining gardens or yards, the health benefits definitely worth the investment.