Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, movies and online games which contain inappropriate actions such as violence are widespread. It is widely held that for the sake of society, they should be censored whereas others believe that it does not produce any hazard and is just for relaxation. This essay will explain the justifications behind the two opposing views before the conclusion is reached. On one hand, being excessively exposed to violence through films and online games can increase the rate of crime commitment. Because they have commonly seen the violence in such media, they might think it is right to do that, so individuals will absorb and might resemble violent practices. For example, Marvel movies often depict heroes fighting wildly against villains, ending up being praised and honoured by the public. This is why the violence existing in movies and computer games should be censored in order to prevent the audiences from misunderstanding and taking after. On the other hand, it is argued that individuals can relax from playing or watching the media containing violence. To explain, if people are aggressive and stressed, they can release negative emotions by consuming violent media, and they will not actually commit wild behaviours in their real life. For instance, some computer games already contain warnings about violence and require control from adults for players who are minors. When being supervised or cautioned, individuals will be conscious. Thus, those are effective ways to relieve stress, as well as learning that violence is not an effective way to solve problems in reality. In conclusion, although the violence existing in movies and computer games is extensively held to pose a detrimental effect on society, it is just an unrealistic situation created for relaxation. Taking both perspectives into consideration, I am inclined to believe that consumers should be aware of resembling such appalling practices and keep in mind that it is not legal to do that.