Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in teams sports such as football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been conflicting views about whether participating in team sports such as football,basketball,rugby or so on can reap more advantages, or being evolved in individual sports, for instance, swimming,tennis, and surfing, can derive better benefits. In this essay, both sides will be discussed, followed by my own opinion. People who consider team sports to be more beneficial may put forth the following argument. Team sports offer people more opportunities to meet teammates from different age groups, and cultural and economic backgrounds. Through communicating with people from a variety of backgrounds, we will learn to see life through different eyes and consider a problem by standing in others’ shoes, which are very important social skills. Such empathy could be translated into the skill of being able to cooperate and collaborate with others in society, making people have stronger connections with each other, and improving social cohesion. Nevertheless, opponents of this way of thinking have their own opinion, which they can also easily justify. Most people play sports for the purpose of getting unwind, preparing them in a better mood for school or work. Playing with a team, however, can hardly meet this need as team sports usually mean being involved in a competition, making people nervous and even depressed when losing points during the game. By contrast, Individual sports allow one to follow his own pace without the need to worry about their slow speed or wrong move may lead to the failure of the game, making other team members angry or upset, which could also make him embarrassed. Therefore, playing alone would be a better choice in this circumstance. In my view, it would be too simplistic to address either side as opposed to each other since doing sports in a team and alone can bring complementary benefits. We can enhance our social skills by playing in a team and we can also choose to jog by ourselves when we are not in the mood of competing with others.