The first car appeard on british road in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on british roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The first vehicle was seen on the British road in the year 1888, later that number boosted to 29 million, in 2000. I agree with the notion people should be motivated to use the other transportation medium and global laws about owning a car and use of it, need to be implemented. Although the automobile is the fastest way to reach our destination, the use of public transport has its own benefits. The government should build trains and buses connecting the towns and villages, this will not only reduce the traffic problem in the cities but also reduce the impact on the environment. For example - half of the cities in Norway, have strict cycle only places, where cars are strictly not allowed. Furthermore, we have seen an increasing number of the public transport in the last decade, however people in the developed countries still prefer their personal car over common transport. To illustrate, the USA have more number of cars than any other country, although they have good public transport. This explains the individual preference for use of the car, which needed to be changed. The introduction of government laws is the only way to alter this. I consider the new laws about the personal car will certainly be effective for the environment as well as for the traffic scene in the urban area. Moreover, encouragement of public transport should be done to reduce the number of cars on the road. In summary, the motivation for use of the public medium is much needed in order to reduce the number of cars, also laws about the purchase of cars on the international level should be strict.