Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is assumed that government control is mandatory in scientific research to achieve a productive and reliable result. Such kind of monitoring would bring in some form of financial assistance and limit the timeline, however, there will also be some drawbacks as the unnecessary steps need to go through if third parties are involved. One evident benefit to having government support is that it can assist to accelerate the process to meet the promised deadline. In other words, since the governmental organization is requesting for the project update to document, either weekly or monthly, the researchers will mainly prioritize the important objectives, resulting in effective and positive outcomes. Another reason that supervision of the government would be advantageous in that the scientists might not need to worry about the budget totally as the government have the power to provide the tools and equipment that are needed for experiment whenever they need it. Therefore, this may be considered as merits in relation to the financial matters and the duration of the project. On the other hand, there are significant disadvantages of having the intervention from the authorities while working on complex scientific research. Firstly, it would mean that there will be a delay in the process because the researchers aimlessly spend time preparing for the progress reports which are required to submit to the management instead of prioritizing their mandatory steps/ stages. Secondly, it would result in more financial needs. For example, only a few numbers of participants are required for a small project if they work independently. But, a large number of people, such as admin staff, and reception, will be involved, considering the scale of the small project if the government is involved since they need to report and entertain the authorities in order to get an adequate amount of money. In conclusion, while there is an asset to government involvement, it can impede the progress of the results. Nevertheless, having an organization in the research should be encouraged as it can bring a positive impact in terms of both funding and timeline