In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more children are obese and this leads to serious health problems. Although I accept that the parents are responsible for the health issue of the children, I believe the authority should share a major part in the problem. First of all, it is reasonable for me to believe that the idea of promoting the significance of leading a healthy lifestyle should be done by the government. If schoolchildren are educated about the harms of becoming fat such as the risks of cardiovascular diseases and inconvenient movement, and the ways of eating healthily through propaganda from the regime, they may try to avoid having too much junk food and substitute it with light snacks like fruit due to media effects. Encouraging students to do exercise can also be seen in school when the government reforms physical education. For example, introducing different sports and increasing the time required for exercising at school to regulate children working out more, instead of glueing on their assignments only. These can only be done by the government. On the other side, some people believe parents should tackle toddlers' overweigh. Since parents are the one who arranges the diet and schedule for children, they are easier to correct the unhealthy habits. However, never should we overlook that parents may not have enough enforcement power. For example, not only can youngsters buy junk food after school with their pocket money, but they may also rebel against their parents by not following their orders and making their relationships tenser. In contrast, the government can mitigate the issue with greater effectiveness. According to the successful examples in Norway, which sets up an obese tax for high fat and sugar food such as chocolate and potato chips, gives great deterrent effect to the citizens in consuming more junk food. Furthermore, these examples are significant tract to be considered from children's perspective. To conclude, due to the aforementioned argument, we can safely conclude that the state is the major stakeholder in alleviating the issue. I strongly recommend the authority should take action to reduce the number of obese cases in society.