Some people think that increasing the number of sports facilities is the best way to improve public health, but others believe that it has little effects and we need other measures to improve it. Discuss both views and give you opinion.

It is worth noting that health problems are haunting the general public, both physically and mentally. Though many assert that installing more sports equipment could tackle this issue, others, however, advocate that we should find other solutions. I concur with the view that governments and colossal organizations together should take more responsibilities. On the one hand, there is no doubt that constructing extra sports facilities could enable citizens to do more physical exercise, hence, leading to a healthy lifestyle. With the increasing pace of life, modern city dwellers’ schedules are largely occupied by sizeable workloads, they often need to do overtime or do shifts even at the weekends, making doing sports extremely time-consuming. Had more gyms been introduced, folks would have been given more access to exercising. On the other hand, it is fair to say that more efforts should be made in order to improve folks’ physical health and mental well-being. Despite sports activities, other aspects with respect to public health, namely food security, air pollution and waste disposal, should also be addressed fundamentally. For instance, the higher prices of sugary foods could refrain people’s purchase desire, giving rise to fewer sweet food lovers and accordingly declining the overweight population in the long run. From my perspective, I strongly believe that authorities should make more efforts to ensure our people can enjoy a good health condition. This is because only the entities like governments and colossal organizations have the power to implement large health projects. For example, they could introduce mandated control on the scale of trans-fat foods or ask factories or education institutions to provide better and cheaper access to nutritious foods, therefore boosting citizens’ fitness. In summary, from what has been discussed above, we can easily draw the conclusion that in order to improve people’s physical health and mental well-being, introducing sports infrastructures alone is not efficient, thus more contribution from authorities and other entities is needed.