The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Considering the significant difference between modern life and the life of the senior generations, some people believe that the traditional ideas which the olders hold are not helpful to the youngers. Though there are some changes between these two generations, some traditional ideas are still beneficial to the younger individuals. Advanced technologies have made considerable differences in people's daily life, which means that the traditional living habits might not be convenient or efficient in today's society. For example, decades before, writing letters or communicating face to face are the common ways to communicate with others, which seems inefficient in modern society. Required to cope with more things than before, traditional communication methods could be seen as a waste of time now, since people have more efficient tools, such as WeChat and other online communication techniques, that can be used to replace the traditional ways. However, some traditional behaviours and thoughts should still be emphasized in modern life. The elders put significant importance on respect in relationships, which should be maintained nowadays. Respect plays a dominant role in individuals' relationships, not only in the elders but also in all individuals. Without which, a simple conversation could be difficult to go on. Another important traditional idea is keeping one's word. Long term cooperation is not likely to sustain if one of them is the person who always breaks his promise. To conclude, advanced technologies have brought a lot of changes in our daily life, but I would argue that some treasurable thoughts and behaviours are worthy of being kept.