Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Transporting via cycling is quite effective for a healthy lifestyle and saves the environment but this way of transportation is not much preferred nowadays as lesser people prefer to adopt bicycling as a means of transport. This essay will discuss the cause behind this trend and ways to reverse this movement. Busy schedules and managing driving time is the foremost reason for lesser bicycling. As cycling is a slower way of commuting, hence individuals prefer usage of faster ways to transit such as metro trains, bikes and cars. Moreover, cycling is not feasible for long-distance travel because reaching on time to any place has become an utmost priority. Today's lifestyle has become too fast and people cannot afford to lose pace due to excursion time. For instance, If you have to report to your office at 9am and need to cover a 20-25kms distance. You cannot afford to use cycling as a way to reach the office. Thus, even though cycling makes you fit but it is not feasible to use to travel on daily basis. Governments can put in efforts to make cycling a daily regime in everybody's life. Firstly, governments should conduct campaigns to aware public of the health as well as the environmental benefits of using the cycle as a mode of transport in everyday life. Secondly, the ministry must make separate lanes for bicycles and should promote their benefit by advertising on different mediums. For example, when a government conducts a marathon or a competition, huge masses can be covered as various advertising channels promote it. The ways mentioned above would not only help in making cycling popular again but will also improve traffic congestion issues. To conclude, though cycling is the slowest mode of transport it has various benefits as well such as controlling traffic jams, controlling pollution issues and giving good health as well. So, the government must take various steps to promote cycling.