Giving children and adolescents pocket money is common throughout the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, pupils and teenagers receiving regular pocket money share the commonplace around the world. However, the pros and cons are debated by lots of adults. Below I will not only explain the strength and the setbacks of petty cash respectively but also share my opinions about it. The main reason why parents offer the allowance to their children is that they buy necessities in urgent. For example, students can buy their lunch at the school without being hungry. In spite of covering for living needs, given an amount of hard cash from an early age can teach children a lesson about how to manage their finance. For instance, they can learn how to make both ends meet and save deposits. If they can acquire financial management skills as early as they can, it will help their adulthood smother in fiscal respect. However, some protesters hold a negative view of small allowance. From their point of view, it causes jealousy among students, because pupils will compare the amounts of their banknotes with each other. As a result of it, students request more banknotes to show off which creates adverse effects on mental ability and financial control skills. Besides, in some people’s opinions, teenagers often overspend on trendy stuff. If they are offered allowance without effort, they will treat everything for granted. Never can learn the meaning of no pain no gain. In a nutshell, there are both pros and cons to pocket money. However, in my opinion, the advantages overweigh the disadvantages, because those mentioned setbacks can be exacerbated by the limitation of the amount of petty cash. In addition, learning how to utilize spending money can boost self-dependency.