Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. This is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Over the past decades, the world has evolved substantially in terms of technological advancement. Many people dispute that scientific researching should be prohibited by the government due to their security policies. There are various forces that drive this trend and both positive and negative impacts by this issue. However, this essay will seek to examine the complex issue. On the one hand, I would like to point out that there are various reasons to consider getting involved by the related authorities. First of all, scientists need to recognise that the government need to consider the implications to the people and country's security. Anyway, a government may have to confront the national unstablization due to the dangerous researchs if there are no obstructions. For example, if a reseacher brings a new weapon, regardless of acknowlegement of the government, which can cause severe side effects to people, there will have a lot of negative issues to be discussed. Consequently, this will drive people crazy and will cause demonstrations and protesting all over the country in a worst-case scenario. On the other hand, I would like to express an equal view that there are several drawbacks of applying many rules by the government. Before all else, the government involving in cases will slower down and delay the improvements. For instance, the required steps and tasks to do a research will freeze the action of scientists, especially in those tests need to be made decisions on the spot. Additionally, the importance of taking risk assessment by the government is undeniable, some projects need to do deliberately in dangerous circumstances, such as testing malitary weapons. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages and weaknesses, the advantages of having strict rules and policy by the government will outshine their drawbacks in order to protect national stabilisation.