Countries are becoming more similar because people can buy any products in the world from wherever they are. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, due to the advent of technologies, more and more consumers have been increasingly buying products from every country in the world via online methods. Many people believe that this trend would lead to more similarity between each country and view that this is a positive development. However, personally, there are more drawbacks to this trend. First and foremost, if local goods are available everywhere, there will be a negative impact on the tourism industry. In general, foreign tourists buy some souvenirs from tourist attractions for their friends or family members. In contrast, when they can buy the souvenirs from their countries, fewer visitors are interested in these kinds of products, resulting in lower sales of traditional products. In many cases, local workers who can create unique tailored-made items have to change their jobs because of less income generated from selling these local goods, and in some cases, some tourist places like local shops or tourist markets become unpopular and have to cease their businesses at the end. This is one main reason why this development should be considered a negative one. Not only does this trend adversely affect the tourism sector, but it could also lead to the loss of cultural identity. Thanks largely to a large amount of budget and sophisticated technologies, a number of multinational companies have been expanding their businesses to other nations and local businesses are unlikely to compete with them. This means more and more small local brands would disappear. Nowadays, in Thailand, global-chain foods like KFC and Mcdonald's replace traditional Thai restaurants in department stores; foreign band concerts are more crowded than cultural events; international hotel operators acquire Thai-style boutique resorts and renovate them into global-style ones. These changes would lead to the unpopularity of local culture, which is another disadvantage of the trend. In conclusion, when all nations are more similar and people are able to find any items in their countries, this would be a negative development because of the decrease in local tourism demand and the disappearance of cultural things.