Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A lot of manufactured foods and beverages contain significant levels of sugar, which leads to various adverse effects on human well-being. Some people believe that the price of sugary products should be increased to prompt consumers to control their sugar intake. Taking other things into consideration, I cannot entirely agree with this view as this problem could only be solved if there is sufficient awareness from the consumers themselves, as well as the manufacturers and policymakers. On the one hand, the mindfulness of consumers plays a significant role in controlling their sugar consumption. The high price regulation might be ineffective if there is a lack of understanding of the negative impacts of sugar on the human body. This happened because sugary products could lead to addiction, so no matter how expensive the products are, people who need those products would potentially still purchase the goods. Therefore, in order to design a healthier society, it should come from themselves. They should increase their sense of awareness of their own body. On the other hand, policymakers and manufacturers shall be involved in promoting a way more sustainable lifestyle. Policymakers shall provide tight regulations about the limit of sugar that could be contented in a product and regulations for producers to provide clear information about the ingredients and nutrients in the packaging. Hence, the consumers are aware of their intakes. Additionally, some simple steps could be taken to encourage the consumers, such as through campaigns or promotions through their own produced goods. As an example, they could provide some detailed information about the side effects of excess consumption of their products. By implementing these regulations and measures, consumers are expected to be more conscious about their daily sugar consumption. In conclusion, there are some measures that could be taken to encourage people to consume less sugar on their daily basis, which is first, the consumers must improve their understanding of the products that are consumed, and second, regulators and producers should encourage society by providing some regulations and information. I, hereby, remain convincedly disagree that raising the price of sugary goods is an effective way to manage this problem.