Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental authorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Contemporary society is known as the era of technological advances. From this aspect, there is a discussion about scientific studies should be controlled by their national government. In my opinion, the governments need to superintend the scientific research. Evidently, if the governments manage the research, it allows them to figure out whether it is operating legally. For example, there are some probabilities that researchers could misspend their budgets or subsidies such as purchase luxury products, and spend money on sectors that are not needed. However, it could be monitored the expenditure of the scientific facility when the governments keep checking it. Therefore, not only could it be prevented, but also it can be identified immediately. Furthermore, it makes results of the scientific studies to improve more effectively. This is because, if the governments monitor each step of the studies, researchers may feel pressure. In the results, they might work hard on their tasks. Nevertheless, the pressure could affect scientists negatively. To exemplify, it could make them to go on strike since they might feel too much interference and wish the governments to stop manage them. What is more, it will need a lot of time and expenditure, if the governments handle them since they need to check the research whenever they improved and about to move to next stage, it not only requires plenty of time, but also need to pay salary to agents who is going to monitor the studies. To sum up, although it will more spend time and budgets, the accomplishment and development of scientific studies will be improved enormously. Thus, the governments should keep controlling their national scientific research in order to achieve them successful.