Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of planets and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental issues have been widely debated across all levels of society in recent years. Some suppose that the problem of the disappearance of certain species of animals and plants is the most serious and acute, while others believe that there are more important difficulties in ecological systems. I think that there are more serious problems, such as climate change, which entail not only the extinction of species but also consequences for the whole society. On the one hand, especially in recent times, society has caused invaluable damage to the environment, which entails the disappearance of animals and plants. People have excessively used nature for production and business. There is active deforestation, accumulation of landfills, and waste disposal. Thus, flora is dying, and animals are being deprived of the most important thing – their habitat, which will eventually lead to their loss. Moreover, in our modern world, poaching still flourishes, specifically aimed at killing the rarest animals. Such damage to our biosphere is not recoverable and will be a blow to the economic development of society. On the other hand, people can fairly consider that there are more serious difficulties, like global climate change. According to this view, it is a much more complex phenomenon. For example, changes in temperature strongly affect the melting of glaciers. This deprives Arctic animals of their habitat and simultaneously causes flooding and rising sea levels. Floods can sweep away urban slums, destroying homes and livelihoods among the poorest people. At the same time, climate change will cause droughts and the reduction of suitable places for growing crops. I would agree that these are impressive examples of the dangers of changing weather conditions. In conclusion, even though some believe that the extinction of species is the major problem in the environment, there are consequently more dangerous processes that endanger the future of our planet. I believe that only the combined work of all countries can affect threats such as climate change, and it is our duty to contribute to this.