Songs with violent lyrics make people more violent and should be banned. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this ban.

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend of criticizing the excessive content of violence in some lyrics. Some understand that any kind of art shouldn’t incentive violence. Others argue that all types of art can’t be censured. I definitely agree with this second opinion. The first reason that makes me stand for freedom in the artistic environment is the necessity of creating art and music for all kind of people. Generally, the more variety of style there is, the richer and nicer the art is. Actually, the violent lifestyle at lyrics usually is related to some social issues. Therefore, it should be faced as a form of objection or protest. For example, some Rap songs by singers like Jojo Todinho detail the sad reality of life in Brazilian slums. On the other hand, it is clear that by glorifying a criminal lifestyle inside some poor communities, lyrics could raise violent acts. Some studies have shown that teenagers from poorer levels of society, when exposed to violence, tend to practice more crimes. Although there are this research, it is important to deal with these issues through governmental politics involving education and family support. For example, the high presence of schools in slums reduced crimes despite the existence of many violent lyrics. To summarize, even though some disadvantages, the benefits of having uncensured art far outweigh the drawbacks. Not only because of the free artistic environment but also because it compels the government to adopt structural measures to improve the quality of life overall.